DeKalb, Illinois
Northern Illinois University College of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1978
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 150
- Median GPA
- 3.41
- Resident tuition
- $23,667
- First-year class
- 134
- Bar-required jobs
- 70.1%
- First-time bar passage
- 61.9%
Current cycle (2026-2027)
Requirements are recorded per application cycle, so a new cycle never overwrites an older one. The 2026-2027 cycle is for students starting law school in fall 2027.
From the school’s official admissions pages
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- Northern Illinois University College of Law — Apply to NIU Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 28, 2026
Deadlines
- Priority application deadlineApril 1, 2027No time published
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- Northern Illinois University College of Law — Apply | College of Law | Northern Illinois University
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 28, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 29, 2026
- Application fee
- Not reported
- Fee waivers
- Not reported
- LSAC CAS required
- Yes
- Résumé
- Not reported
- Interviews
- Since we don't conduct interviews, this is your opportunity to introduce yourself to our admissions committee.
- Rolling admissions
- Not reported
- International applicants
- Not reported
- Transfer applicants
- Not reported
Admission tests
- LSAT: accepted
Essays & statements
- Personal statementRequired2 page limit
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- Northern Illinois University College of Law — Apply to NIU Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 28, 2026
- AddendumOptional
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- Northern Illinois University College of Law — Apply to NIU Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 28, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 29, 2026
As reported to the ABA
The ABA report that would cover the 2026-2027 cycle (report year 2026) has not been published or verified yet.
