Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

Madison, Wisconsin

University of Wisconsin Law School

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1923
Institution type
Public
J.D. formats
Full-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
167
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.81
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$36,526
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
224
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
90.2%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
75%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Current cycle (2026-2027)

Requirements are recorded per application cycle, so a new cycle never overwrites an older one. The 2026-2027 cycle is for students starting law school in fall 2027.

From the school’s official admissions pages

Source
Organization
Individual law schools
Document
University of Wisconsin Law School — J.D. Application Process | University of Wisconsin Law School
Covers
2026-2027 cycle
Retrieved
Sep 29, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 29, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

Deadlines

  • Early Decision deadlineBindingDecember 4, 2026No time published
    Source
    Organization
    Individual law schools
    Document
    University of Wisconsin Law School — J.D. Applications | University of Wisconsin Law School
    Covers
    2026-2027 cycle
    Retrieved
    Sep 29, 2026
    Status
    Verified · Sep 29, 2026
    Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Regular Decision deadlineMarch 1, 2027No time published
    Source
    Organization
    Individual law schools
    Document
    University of Wisconsin Law School — J.D. Applications | University of Wisconsin Law School
    Covers
    2026-2027 cycle
    Retrieved
    Sep 29, 2026
    Status
    Verified · Sep 29, 2026
    Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Application fee
$65
Fee waivers
The Law School offers a limited number of fee waivers each application cycle.
LSAC CAS required
Yes
Résumé
Not reported
Interviews
During our holistic review process, you may be invited to participate in an interview.
Rolling admissions
Yes
International applicants
Not reported
Transfer applicants
Not reported

Admission tests

  • LSAT: accepted
  • GRE: accepted
  • JD-NEXT: not accepted

Letters of recommendation: 2 required; up to 4 accepted.

Essays & statements

  • Personal statementRequired
    Source
    Organization
    Individual law schools
    Document
    University of Wisconsin Law School — J.D. Application Process | University of Wisconsin Law School
    Covers
    2026-2027 cycle
    Retrieved
    Sep 29, 2026
    Status
    Verified · Sep 29, 2026
    Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Optional addendaOptional
    Source
    Organization
    Individual law schools
    Document
    University of Wisconsin Law School — J.D. Application Process | University of Wisconsin Law School
    Covers
    2026-2027 cycle
    Retrieved
    Sep 29, 2026
    Status
    Verified · Sep 29, 2026
    Open official source (opens in a new tab)

As reported to the ABA

The ABA report that would cover the 2026-2027 cycle (report year 2026) has not been published or verified yet.