Charlottesville, Virginia
University of Virginia School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1923
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 173
- Median GPA
- 3.99
- Resident tuition
- $74,078
- First-year class
- 309
- Bar-required jobs
- 98.1%
- First-time bar passage
- 95.1%
Current cycle (2026-2027)
Requirements are recorded per application cycle, so a new cycle never overwrites an older one. The 2026-2027 cycle is for students starting law school in fall 2027.
From the school’s official admissions pages
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- University of Virginia School of Law — J.D. Application Information | University of Virginia School of Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 29, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 29, 2026
Deadlines
- Deadline to applyMarch 1, 2027No time published
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- University of Virginia School of Law — J.D. Application Information | University of Virginia School of Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 29, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 29, 2026
- Application fee
- $85
- Fee waivers
- We are also happy to waive the application fee for any candidates approved for LSAC’s Fee Waiver Program or for any candidate for whom the fee poses a financial hardship.
- LSAC CAS required
- Yes
- Résumé
- Required
- Interviews
- Select applicants will be invited to interview with a member of our admissions committee and notified of their decision shortly thereafter.
- Rolling admissions
- Yes
- International applicants
- Not reported
- Transfer applicants
- Not reported
Admission tests
- LSAT: accepted
- GRE: accepted
- JD-NEXT: not accepted
Letters of recommendation: 2 required; up to 4 accepted.
Essays & statements
- Personal statementRequired2 page limit
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- University of Virginia School of Law — J.D. Application Information | University of Virginia School of Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 29, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 29, 2026
- Optional addendaOptional
Source
- Organization
- Individual law schools
- Document
- University of Virginia School of Law — J.D. Application Information | University of Virginia School of Law
- Covers
- 2026-2027 cycle
- Retrieved
- Sep 29, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 29, 2026
As reported to the ABA
The ABA report that would cover the 2026-2027 cycle (report year 2026) has not been published or verified yet.
