Vermillion, South Dakota
University of South Dakota
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1923
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 152
- Median GPA
- 3.47
- Resident tuition
- $12,076
- First-year class
- 88
- Bar-required jobs
- 78%
- First-time bar passage
- 69.2%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2022-2023
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2022)
- Covers
- Report year 2022
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $11,736 | $5,057 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $31,276 | $5,057 |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $391 | $4,117 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2022)
- Covers
- Report year 2022
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$14,671
- Living off campus$17,230
- Living at home$8,509
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$11,736
- Mandatory fees$5,057
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$17,230
PreLaw Advisor total$34,023
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2022–2023 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2022)
- Covers
- Report year 2022
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 226 | 226 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 117 | 117 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 85 | 85 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 27 | 27 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 0 | 0 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 5 | 5 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $610 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $5,111 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $8,950 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2022)
- Covers
- Report year 2022
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-20201 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-20191 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-20181 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
