San Francisco, California
University of San Francisco School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1935
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 155
- Median GPA
- 3.47
- Resident tuition
- $59,800
- First-year class
- 201
- Bar-required jobs
- 76.3%
- First-time bar passage
- 80.9%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2021-2022
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $52,110 | $80 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $52,110 | $80 |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $1,805 | $56 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$29,310
- Living off campus$28,880
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$52,110
- Mandatory fees$80
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$28,880
PreLaw Advisor total$81,070
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2021–2022 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 367 | 331 | 36 |
| Receiving grants | 227 | 204 | 23 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 94 | 85 | 9 |
| Half to full tuition | 109 | 100 | 9 |
| Full tuition | 23 | 19 | 4 |
| More than full tuition | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $15,200 | $10,000 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $30,000 | $23,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $37,000 | $32,226 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-202042 received · 15 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-201990 received · 29 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-201877 received · 31 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
