Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

San Juan, Puerto Rico

University of Puerto Rico

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1945
Institution type
Public
J.D. formats
Full-time and Part-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
152
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.77
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$305 / credit
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
122
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
48.4%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
75.7%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$3,850$100
Full-time · nonresident$11,350$100
Part-time · resident$1,850$100
Part-time · nonresident$5,350$100
Full-time · per credit (resident)$250$100
Part-time · per credit (resident)$250$100

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living on campus$14,021
  • Living off campus$19,306
  • Living at home$13,581

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$3,850
  • Mandatory fees$100
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$19,306
PreLaw Advisor total$23,256

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students567Not applicableNot applicable
Receiving grants19Not applicableNot applicable
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot applicableNot applicable
Less than half tuition3Not applicableNot applicable
Half to full tuition4Not applicableNot applicable
Full tuition10Not applicableNot applicable
More than full tuition2Not applicableNot applicable
25th percentile grantNot applicableNot applicableNot applicable
Median grantNot applicableNot applicableNot applicable
75th percentile grantNot applicableNot applicableNot applicable

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-20200 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-20190 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-20180 received · 0 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.