Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

Albuquerque, New Mexico

University of New Mexico School of Law

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1948
Institution type
Public
J.D. formats
Full-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
157
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.56
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$19,474
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
108
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
74%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
77%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$9,144$650
Full-time · nonresident$19,620$650
Full-time · per credit (resident)$759$650

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living on campus$17,155
  • Living off campus$17,155
  • Living at home$10,283

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$9,144
  • Mandatory fees$650
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$17,155
PreLaw Advisor total$26,949

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students310310Not applicable
Receiving grants245245Not applicable
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot applicable
Less than half tuition182182Not applicable
Half to full tuition4141Not applicable
Full tuition66Not applicable
More than full tuition1616Not applicable
25th percentile grantNot applicable$1,000Not applicable
Median grantNot applicable$4,400Not applicable
75th percentile grantNot applicable$8,600Not applicable

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-202034 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-201966 received · 9 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-201860 received · 11 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.