Chicago, Illinois
University of Illinois Chicago School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1951
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 153
- Median GPA
- 3.40
- Resident tuition
- $1,248 / credit
- First-year class
- 379
- Bar-required jobs
- 71.2%
- First-time bar passage
- 68.8%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · per credit (resident) | $1,200 | $3,340 |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $1,200 | $2,960 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$21,650
- Living off campus$21,650
- Living at home$21,650
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 1,007 | 768 | 239 |
| Receiving grants | 618 | 524 | 94 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 178 | 144 | 34 |
| Half to full tuition | 264 | 228 | 36 |
| Full tuition | 160 | 140 | 20 |
| More than full tuition | 16 | 12 | 4 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $15,225 | $5,760 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $25,000 | $12,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $34,800 | $20,700 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-2020148 received · 3 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-2019156 received · 77 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-2018125 received · 61 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
