Houston, Texas
University of Houston Law Center
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1950
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 163
- Median GPA
- 3.79
- Resident tuition
- $31,326
- First-year class
- 249
- Bar-required jobs
- 84.9%
- First-time bar passage
- 84.5%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2019-2020
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $16,590 | $642 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $24,216 | $642 |
| Part-time · resident | $11,400 | $642 |
| Part-time · nonresident | $16,566 | $642 |
| Full-time · per credit (resident) | $897 | $642 |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $897 | $642 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$18,576
- Living off campus$19,970
- Living at home$12,898
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$16,590
- Mandatory fees$642
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$19,970
PreLaw Advisor total$37,202
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2019–2020 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 704 | 606 | 98 |
| Receiving grants | 570 | 516 | 54 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 392 | 346 | 46 |
| Half to full tuition | 141 | 135 | 6 |
| Full tuition | 28 | 26 | 2 |
| More than full tuition | 9 | 9 | 0 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $5,000 | $2,500 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $10,000 | $5,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $20,000 | $10,000 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2017-20180 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2016-20170 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-20160 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
