Hartford, Connecticut
University of Connecticut School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1933
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 162
- Median GPA
- 3.78
- Resident tuition
- $30,354
- First-year class
- 151
- Bar-required jobs
- 81.7%
- First-time bar passage
- 82.8%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2017-2018
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $29,410 | Not reported |
| Full-time · nonresident | $59,852 | Not reported |
| Part-time · resident | $20,982 | Not reported |
| Part-time · nonresident | $42,402 | Not reported |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living off campus$18,986
- Living at home$9,256
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$29,410
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$18,986
PreLaw Advisor total$48,396
Not included (not published): Mandatory fees.
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2017–2018 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 391 | 287 | 104 |
| Receiving grants | 276 | 227 | 49 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 201 | 158 | 43 |
| Half to full tuition | 57 | 51 | 6 |
| Full tuition | 4 | 4 | 0 |
| More than full tuition | 14 | 14 | 0 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $9,625 | $4,000 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $11,000 | $7,200 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $20,000 | $10,000 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2016-20170 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-20160 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2014-20150 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
