Houston, Texas
Thurgood Marshall School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1949
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 150
- Median GPA
- 3.33
- Resident tuition
- $19,202
- First-year class
- 221
- Bar-required jobs
- 54.3%
- First-time bar passage
- 62.9%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $10,209 | $918 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $13,719 | $918 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living off campus$20,818
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$10,209
- Mandatory fees$918
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$20,818
PreLaw Advisor total$31,945
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 577 | 577 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 327 | 327 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 273 | 273 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 7 | 7 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 41 | 41 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 6 | 6 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $1,311 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $2,000 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $3,500 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-20208 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-201919 received · 1 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-201832 received · 26 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
