Washington, District of Columbia
The George Washington University Law School
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1923
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 168
- Median GPA
- 3.86
- Resident tuition
- $75,420
- First-year class
- 612
- Bar-required jobs
- 89.8%
- First-time bar passage
- 87.7%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2018-2019
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $30,395 | Not reported |
| Full-time · nonresident | $30,395 | Not reported |
| Part-time · resident | $22,470 | Not reported |
| Part-time · nonresident | $22,470 | Not reported |
| Full-time · per credit (resident) | $2,140 | Not reported |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $2,140 | Not reported |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$30,350
- Living off campus$27,550
- Living at home$27,550
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$30,395
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$27,550
PreLaw Advisor total$57,945
Not included (not published): Mandatory fees.
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2018–2019 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 1,494 | 1,298 | 196 |
| Receiving grants | 1,028 | 963 | 65 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 702 | 653 | 49 |
| Half to full tuition | 279 | 271 | 8 |
| Full tuition | 46 | 39 | 7 |
| More than full tuition | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $16,000 | $8,000 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $25,000 | $13,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $30,000 | $20,000 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2017-20180 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2016-20170 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-20160 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
