Stanford, California
Stanford Law School
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1923
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 173
- Median GPA
- 3.96
- Resident tuition
- $77,454
- First-year class
- 193
- Bar-required jobs
- 86.8%
- First-time bar passage
- 99.4%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2018-2019
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$34,056
- Living off campus$37,443
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
Grants & scholarships (2018–2019 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 565 | 565 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 263 | 263 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 101 | 101 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 152 | 152 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 3 | 3 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 7 | 7 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $21,488 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $33,016 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $43,571 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2018)
- Covers
- Report year 2018
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2017-20180 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2016-20170 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-20160 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
