Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Southern University Law Center

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1953
Institution type
Public
J.D. formats
Full-time and Part-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
147
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.15
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$11,338
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
300
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
40.3%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
68.1%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2022-2023

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2022)
Covers
Report year 2022
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$11,338$7,994
Full-time · nonresident$11,338$20,594
Part-time · resident$10,484$6,680
Part-time · nonresident$10,484$19,280

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2022)
Covers
Report year 2022
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living on campus$23,128
  • Living off campus$23,128
  • Living at home$23,128

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$11,338
  • Mandatory fees$7,994
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$23,128
PreLaw Advisor total$42,460

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2022–2023 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2022)
Covers
Report year 2022
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students909550359
Receiving grants1081062
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Less than half tuition18171
Half to full tuition90891
Full tuition000
More than full tuition000
25th percentile grantNot applicable$9,500$6,750
Median grantNot applicable$10,500$7,500
75th percentile grantNot applicable$12,000$8,250

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2022)
Covers
Report year 2022
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-2020113 received · 54 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-2019155 received · 28 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-201885 received · 17 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.