Santa Clara, California
Santa Clara University Law School
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1937
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 159
- Median GPA
- 3.50
- Resident tuition
- $2,260 / credit
- First-year class
- 256
- Bar-required jobs
- 75.3%
- First-time bar passage
- 82%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2017-2018
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $48,916 | Not reported |
| Full-time · nonresident | $48,916 | Not reported |
| Part-time · resident | $36,687 | Not reported |
| Part-time · nonresident | $36,687 | Not reported |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$25,844
- Living off campus$25,844
- Living at home$25,844
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$48,916
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$25,844
PreLaw Advisor total$74,760
Not included (not published): Mandatory fees.
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2017–2018 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 658 | 537 | 121 |
| Receiving grants | 395 | 324 | 71 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 303 | 260 | 43 |
| Half to full tuition | 76 | 55 | 21 |
| Full tuition | 16 | 9 | 7 |
| More than full tuition | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $10,000 | $7,500 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $20,000 | $11,500 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $25,000 | $25,000 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2016-2017134 received · 48 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-2016183 received · 63 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2014-201590 received · 28 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
