Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

Birmingham, Alabama

Samford University Cumberland School of Law

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1949
Institution type
Private
J.D. formats
Full-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
156
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.63
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$46,334
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
170
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
80.6%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
90.4%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$20,985$640
Full-time · nonresident$20,985$640
Full-time · per credit (resident)$1,399$640

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living off campus$18,246
  • Living at home$6,996

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$20,985
  • Mandatory fees$640
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$18,246
PreLaw Advisor total$39,871

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students434434Not applicable
Receiving grants402402Not applicable
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot applicable
Less than half tuition277277Not applicable
Half to full tuition116116Not applicable
Full tuition99Not applicable
More than full tuition33Not applicable
25th percentile grantNot applicable$8,000Not applicable
Median grantNot applicable$15,000Not applicable
75th percentile grantNot applicable$22,500Not applicable

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-2020156 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-2019137 received · 11 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-2018138 received · 5 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.