Bristol, Rhode Island
Roger Williams University School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1995
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 150
- Median GPA
- 3.43
- Resident tuition
- $47,400
- First-year class
- 189
- Bar-required jobs
- 69.2%
- First-time bar passage
- 65.2%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2017-2018
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $34,833 | Not reported |
| Full-time · nonresident | $34,833 | Not reported |
The school reports a tuition guarantee program.
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$17,500
- Living off campus$17,500
- Living at home$17,500
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$34,833
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$17,500
PreLaw Advisor total$52,333
Not included (not published): Mandatory fees.
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2017–2018 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 424 | 424 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 255 | 255 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 124 | 124 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 128 | 128 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 3 | 3 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 0 | 0 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $8,448 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $16,896 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $25,344 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2016-2017110 received · 33 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-2016103 received · 34 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2014-201583 received · 20 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
