Malibu, California
Rick J. Caruso School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1972
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 164
- Median GPA
- 3.85
- Resident tuition
- $72,920
- First-year class
- 227
- Bar-required jobs
- 91.8%
- First-time bar passage
- 90.7%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2017-2018
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $54,260 | Not reported |
| Full-time · nonresident | $54,260 | Not reported |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$27,000
- Living off campus$27,000
- Living at home$27,000
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$54,260
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$27,000
PreLaw Advisor total$81,260
Not included (not published): Mandatory fees.
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2017–2018 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 598 | 585 | 13 |
| Receiving grants | 411 | 411 | 0 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 195 | 195 | 0 |
| Half to full tuition | 185 | 185 | 0 |
| Full tuition | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| More than full tuition | 30 | 30 | 0 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $15,000 | Not reported |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $27,000 | Not reported |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $40,000 | Not reported |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2016-2017125 received · 26 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-201684 received · 22 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2014-2015136 received · 38 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
