Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

New York, New York

NYU School of Law

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1930
Institution type
Private
J.D. formats
Full-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
172
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.92
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$83,952
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
452
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
98.1%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
96.9%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Historical year — the latest is fall 2025

First-year class — fall 2020

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — First Year Class (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
First-year class statistics by enrollment status
MeasureAll studentsFull-time
Completed applications8,009Not applicable
Offers of admission1,728Not applicable
Acceptance rate21.6%Not applicable
First-year enrollment425425
LSAT 25th / 50th / 75th167 / 170 / 172167 / 170 / 172
UGPA 25th / 50th / 75th3.65 / 3.82 / 3.903.65 / 3.82 / 3.90
Students with GRE scores16Not reported
Students with JD-Next scoresNot reportedNot reported

No part-time first-year students were reported for fall 2020, so part-time statistics are not applicable.

Where published numbers fall

LSAT25th 167 · Median 170 · 75th 172
LSAT: published 25th percentile 167, median 170, 75th percentile 172.
Undergraduate GPA25th 3.65 · Median 3.82 · 75th 3.90
Undergraduate GPA: published 25th percentile 3.65, median 3.82, 75th percentile 3.90.
GRE Verbal25th 163 · Median 165 · 75th 167
GRE Verbal: published 25th percentile 163, median 165, 75th percentile 167.
GRE Quantitative25th 160 · Median 163 · 75th 165
GRE Quantitative: published 25th percentile 160, median 163, 75th percentile 165.

These are descriptive statistics about students who enrolled in fall 2020. Being above or below a published percentile does not determine an admissions decision.

J.D. enrollment

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — JD Enrollment and Ethnicity (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Total J.D. students
1,370
1L
425
2L
474
3L
471
4L
0
J.D. degrees awarded
477

Attrition & transfers

1L academic attrition
0%
1L other attrition
0%
Upper-level academic attrition
0%
Transfers in
53
1L transfers out
2
Transfer GPA median
3.74

Transfer GPA percentiles are only published when a school admits 12 or more transfer students.