New York, New York
New York Law School
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1954
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 157
- Median GPA
- 3.63
- Resident tuition
- $71,052
- First-year class
- 409
- Bar-required jobs
- 74.8%
- First-time bar passage
- 86.5%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2019-2020
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $26,276 | $915 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $26,276 | $915 |
| Part-time · resident | $20,232 | $664 |
| Part-time · nonresident | $20,232 | $664 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$29,645
- Living off campus$23,759
- Living at home$10,719
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$26,276
- Mandatory fees$915
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$23,759
PreLaw Advisor total$50,950
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2019–2020 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 1,016 | 785 | 231 |
| Receiving grants | 789 | 640 | 149 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 355 | 283 | 72 |
| Half to full tuition | 220 | 182 | 38 |
| Full tuition | 125 | 97 | 28 |
| More than full tuition | 89 | 78 | 11 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $15,000 | $10,000 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $27,500 | $20,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $50,008 | $38,536 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2017-2018288 received · 106 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2016-2017320 received · 132 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-2016267 received · 100 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
