Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

Hempstead, New York

Maurice A. Deane School of Law at Hofstra University

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1971
Institution type
Private
J.D. formats
Full-time and Part-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
157
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.65
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$73,344
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
263
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
86.3%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
79.2%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2021-2022

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
Covers
Report year 2021
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$63,306$716
Full-time · nonresident$63,306$716
Part-time · resident$47,480$474
Part-time · nonresident$47,480$474
Full-time · per credit (resident)$2,210$716
Part-time · per credit (resident)$2,210$474

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
Covers
Report year 2021
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living on campus$28,078
  • Living off campus$30,299
  • Living at home$8,720

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$63,306
  • Mandatory fees$716
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$30,299
PreLaw Advisor total$94,321

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2021–2022 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2021)
Covers
Report year 2021
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students82378241
Receiving grants71769027
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Less than half tuition37035416
Half to full tuition1551505
Full tuition1901846
More than full tuition220
25th percentile grantNot applicable$15,000$11,875
Median grantNot applicable$30,000$20,000
75th percentile grantNot applicable$62,780$43,511

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
Covers
Report year 2021
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-2020226 received · 117 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-2019227 received · 111 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-2018220 received · 103 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.