Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

San Francisco, California

Golden Gate University School of Law

Accreditation
ABA approved — teach-out plan since 1956
Institution type
Private
J.D. formats
Full-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
153
Fall 2023 entering class
Median GPA
3.28
Fall 2023 entering class
Resident tuition
$1,750 / credit
Full-time, 2023-2024
First-year class
25
Enrolled fall 2023
Bar-required jobs
Not published
Class of 2022, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
35.1%
2021 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 28, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 28, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · per credit (resident)$1,700$500
Part-time · per credit (resident)$1,700$500

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 28, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 28, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living off campus$30,573
  • Living at home$30,573

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

Not published

Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 28, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 28, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students489386103
Receiving grants35028565
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Less than half tuition12410816
Half to full tuition463412
Full tuition17714136
More than full tuition321
25th percentile grantNot applicable$15,000$15,000
Median grantNot applicable$35,000$30,000
75th percentile grantNot applicable$51,000$37,400

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 28, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 28, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-202049 received · 21 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-2019108 received · 66 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-2018124 received · 60 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.