Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

Des Moines, Iowa

Drake University Law School

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1923
Institution type
Private
J.D. formats
Full-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
156
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.67
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$50,920
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
141
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
86%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
77.2%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2019-2020

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
Covers
Report year 2019
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$21,200$112
Full-time · nonresident$21,200$112
Full-time · per credit (resident)$1,462$112

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
Covers
Report year 2019
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living on campus$22,527
  • Living off campus$22,527
  • Living at home$10,515

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$21,200
  • Mandatory fees$112
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$22,527
PreLaw Advisor total$43,839

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2019–2020 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2019)
Covers
Report year 2019
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students313313Not applicable
Receiving grants241241Not applicable
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot applicable
Less than half tuition6969Not applicable
Half to full tuition134134Not applicable
Full tuition2828Not applicable
More than full tuition1010Not applicable
25th percentile grantNot applicable$16,000Not applicable
Median grantNot applicable$28,000Not applicable
75th percentile grantNot applicable$34,000Not applicable

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
Covers
Report year 2019
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2017-201839 received · 27 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2016-201735 received · 24 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2015-201641 received · 25 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.