Long Island City, New York
City University of New York School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1985
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 155
- Median GPA
- 3.54
- Resident tuition
- $15,450
- First-year class
- 219
- Bar-required jobs
- 73.4%
- First-time bar passage
- 69%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2021-2022
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $15,450 | $563 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $25,640 | $563 |
| Part-time · resident | $14,540 | $348 |
| Part-time · nonresident | $24,020 | $348 |
| Full-time · per credit (resident) | $655 | $563 |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $655 | $348 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living off campus$24,714
- Living at home$10,682
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$15,450
- Mandatory fees$563
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$24,714
PreLaw Advisor total$40,727
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2021–2022 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 672 | 457 | 215 |
| Receiving grants | 279 | 227 | 52 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 175 | 150 | 25 |
| Half to full tuition | 57 | 34 | 23 |
| Full tuition | 28 | 26 | 2 |
| More than full tuition | 19 | 17 | 2 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $5,000 | $2,500 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $6,000 | $5,479 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $13,000 | $6,000 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2021)
- Covers
- Report year 2021
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-20200 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-20190 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-20180 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
