Orange, California
Chapman University Dale E. Fowler School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1998
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 163
- Median GPA
- 3.70
- Resident tuition
- $63,126
- First-year class
- 153
- Bar-required jobs
- 76.2%
- First-time bar passage
- 80.3%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $28,180 | $438 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $28,180 | $438 |
| Part-time · resident | $22,500 | $438 |
| Part-time · nonresident | $22,500 | $438 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$33,572
- Living off campus$33,572
- Living at home$24,212
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$28,180
- Mandatory fees$438
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$33,572
PreLaw Advisor total$62,190
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 461 | 461 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 259 | 247 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 38 | 35 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 84 | 81 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 115 | 113 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 22 | 18 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $40,000 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $54,718 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $54,718 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-20200 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-20190 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-20180 received · 0 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
