Memphis, Tennessee
Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1965
- Institution type
- Public
- J.D. formats
- Full-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 155
- Median GPA
- 3.53
- Resident tuition
- $18,634
- First-year class
- 96
- Bar-required jobs
- 79.8%
- First-time bar passage
- 72.6%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $8,558 | $1,048 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $10,965 | $1,048 |
| Part-time · resident | $7,002 | $792 |
| Part-time · nonresident | $8,964 | $792 |
| Full-time · per credit (resident) | $778 | $1,048 |
| Part-time · per credit (resident) | $778 | $792 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living on campus$18,579
- Living off campus$18,579
- Living at home$11,954
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$8,558
- Mandatory fees$1,048
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$18,579
PreLaw Advisor total$28,185
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 348 | 348 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 174 | 171 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 109 | 106 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 48 | 48 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 6 | 6 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 11 | 11 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $6,379 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $10,000 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $13,754 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
- Covers
- Report year 2020
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2019-202051 received · 3 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2018-201937 received · 9 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2017-201826 received · 9 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
