Columbus, Ohio
Capital University Law School
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1950
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 151
- Median GPA
- 3.44
- Resident tuition
- $45,066
- First-year class
- 180
- Bar-required jobs
- 71.9%
- First-time bar passage
- 73.7%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2017-2018
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $36,112 | Not reported |
| Full-time · nonresident | $36,112 | Not reported |
| Part-time · resident | $22,394 | Not reported |
| Part-time · nonresident | $22,394 | Not reported |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living off campus$18,172
- Living at home$18,172
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$36,112
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$18,172
PreLaw Advisor total$54,284
Not included (not published): Mandatory fees.
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2017–2018 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 378 | 240 | 138 |
| Receiving grants | 300 | 194 | 106 |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Less than half tuition | 197 | 108 | 89 |
| Half to full tuition | 100 | 84 | 16 |
| Full tuition | 3 | 2 | 1 |
| More than full tuition | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $8,500 | $4,419 |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $15,125 | $7,000 |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $22,000 | $10,250 |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2017)
- Covers
- Report year 2017
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2016-2017111 received · 35 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-201690 received · 16 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2014-201592 received · 21 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
