Skip to content
PreLaw Advisor
  • Law school directorySearch and filter every school
  • Compare schoolsUp to four side by side
  • Areas of lawWhat lawyers do, and where it is taught
  • Degrees and program typesJ.D. formats, LL.M. and more
  • Costs and outcomesTuition, employment, bar passage
  • Admissions guideHow an application is put together
  • Application plannerChecklists, essays, deadlines
  • Law schools worldwideSchools in over a hundred countries
  • Data and methodologyWhere every figure comes from

↑↓ to move · Enter to open · Esc to close

San Diego, California

California Western School of Law

Accreditation
ABA approved since 1962
Institution type
Private
J.D. formats
Full-time and Part-time J.D.
Add to my applications
Median LSAT
155
Fall 2025 entering class
Median GPA
3.50
Fall 2025 entering class
Resident tuition
$64,720
Full-time, 2025-2026
First-year class
242
Enrolled fall 2025
Bar-required jobs
74.1%
Class of 2025, full-time long-term
First-time bar passage
71.4%
2025 graduates

Latest verified values from ABA required disclosures. Each dataset describes a different class, as labelled. The job share is PreLaw Advisor’s arithmetic (full-time, long-term bar-passage-required positions ÷ total graduates), not an ABA-published figure.

Tuition & mandatory fees — 2020-2021

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Tuition and fees by program and residency
ProgramTuitionFees
Full-time · resident$28,040$150
Full-time · nonresident$28,040$150
Part-time · resident$20,920$150
Part-time · nonresident$20,920$150

Living expenses (school estimates)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
  • Living off campus$26,140
  • Living at home$14,020

Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.

Estimated annual cost (calculation)

  • Tuition$28,040
  • Mandatory fees$150
  • Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$26,140
PreLaw Advisor total$54,330

Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.

Model costs with your own scholarship offers →

Grants & scholarships (2020–2021 students)

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)
Grant recipients and amounts
MeasureAllFull-timePart-time
Total students709594115
Receiving grants500357143
% receiving grantsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Less than half tuition18714344
Half to full tuition22115368
Full tuition885830
More than full tuition431
25th percentile grantNot applicable$28,494$18,912
Median grantNot applicable$40,620$30,732
75th percentile grantNot applicable$64,992$54,540

The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.

Conditional scholarships

Source
Organization
American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
Document
ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2020)
Covers
Report year 2020
Retrieved
Sep 23, 2026
Status
Verified · Sep 23, 2026
Open official source (opens in a new tab)

The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.

  • Entering 2019-2020181 received · 136 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2018-2019164 received · 126 reduced or eliminated
  • Entering 2017-2018191 received · 67 reduced or eliminated

Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.