Albany, New York
Albany Law School
- Accreditation
- ABA approved since 1930
- Institution type
- Private
- J.D. formats
- Full-time and Part-time and Distance education J.D.
- Median LSAT
- 158
- Median GPA
- 3.54
- Resident tuition
- $63,994
- First-year class
- 237
- Bar-required jobs
- 88.5%
- First-time bar passage
- 86.7%
Tuition & mandatory fees — 2019-2020
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Program | Tuition | Fees |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time · resident | $24,812 | $95 |
| Full-time · nonresident | $24,812 | $95 |
| Part-time · resident | $18,609 | $95 |
| Part-time · nonresident | $18,609 | $95 |
Living expenses (school estimates)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
- Living off campus$16,338
- Living at home$8,338
Annual estimates for single students, as reported by the school. Books, transportation and insurance are not itemized in ABA disclosures.
Estimated annual cost (calculation)
- Tuition$24,812
- Mandatory fees$95
- Living expenses (off campus, school estimate)$16,338
PreLaw Advisor total$41,245
Sum of the school-published figures above. It is not the school’s official cost of attendance and assumes no scholarship.
Model costs with your own scholarship offers →Grants & scholarships (2019–2020 students)
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Grants and Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
| Measure | All | Full-time | Part-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total students | 470 | 470 | Not applicable |
| Receiving grants | 432 | 411 | Not applicable |
| % receiving grants | Not reported | Not reported | Not applicable |
| Less than half tuition | 153 | 144 | Not applicable |
| Half to full tuition | 229 | 220 | Not applicable |
| Full tuition | 48 | 45 | Not applicable |
| More than full tuition | 2 | 2 | Not applicable |
| 25th percentile grant | Not applicable | $18,000 | Not applicable |
| Median grant | Not applicable | $28,000 | Not applicable |
| 75th percentile grant | Not applicable | $38,000 | Not applicable |
The ABA publishes grant percentiles by full-time/part-time status only. These describe past awards; they do not indicate what any applicant will receive.
Conditional scholarships
Source
- Organization
- American Bar Association, Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar
- Document
- ABA Standard 509 compilation — Tuitions and Fees/Living Expenses/Cond. Scholarships (2019)
- Covers
- Report year 2019
- Retrieved
- Sep 23, 2026
- Status
- Verified · Sep 23, 2026
The report does not state whether conditional scholarships are offered.
- Entering 2017-201890 received · 27 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2016-201772 received · 13 reduced or eliminated
- Entering 2015-201697 received · 26 reduced or eliminated
Figures are School reported to the ABA under Standard 509.
